Riverside City College Academic Senate

May 16, 2022 • 3:00 - 5:00 PM • Zoom / Hall of Fame

3:00 I. Call to Order - 3:09 pm

 Moment of silence observed for victims of Buffalo, New York tragedy that took place on May 14th.

Roll Call

Academic Senate Officers

President: Mark Sellick

Vice President: Kevin Mayse, Music Secretary-Treasurer: Mary Legner

Department Senators

Applied Technology: Paul O'Connell

Art: Will Kim

Behavioral Science: Marc Wolpoff

Business Admin/IST: Mark Lehr (not present)

Chemistry: Stacie Eldridge

Communication Studies: Cliff Ruth Cosmetology: Peter Westbrook Counseling: Scott Brown/Sal Soto Dance and Theatre: Jodi Julian

Early Childhood Education: Emily Philippsen

Economics/Geography/Political Science: Kendralyn Webber

English: Christine Sandoval

History/Humanities/Philosophy: Kirsten Gerdes

Kinesiology: Dennis Rogers Library: Linda Braiman

Life Sciences: Lisa Thompson-Eagle

Mathematics: Evan Enright

Nursing: Lee Nelson

Physical Science: James Cheney World Languages: Rosemarie Sarkis

Associate Faculty Senator

Lindsay Weiler

Ex-Officio Senators

EPOC: Vacant

ASC: Jacquie Lesch (not present)

Teaching and Learning LC: Star Taylor (not present)

Student Access and Success LC: Carolyn Rosales (not present)

Resource Development and Administrative Services LC: Tucker Amidon Government, Effectiveness, Mission, and Quality LC: Wendy McKeen

Curriculum: Kelly Douglass

RCCD Faculty Association

Rhonda Taube (not present)

Administrative Representatives

College President: Gregory Anderson VP Academic Affairs: Lynn Wright

VP Business Services: Raymond "Chip" West (not present)

VP Planning and Development: Kristine DiMemmo

VP Student Services: FeRita Carter

ASRCC Representative

ASRCC President Albert Jaramillo (not present)

Recorder of Minutes

Danielle Elizondo

3:05 II. Approval of the Agenda – 3:09 pm

 Motion to amend the agenda to move agenda items VI A and VI B up in the agenda above the approval of minutes M/S/C: O'Connell/Enright, accepted by consent

VI. Unfinished Business- 3:15 pm

- A. Resolution 22.1: Adoption of Online Education Initiative Course Design Rubric as Riverside City College Standard for Online Courses- Heather Smith
 - Motion to accept Resolution 22.1 M/S/C: O'Connell/Thompson-Eagle
 - Pros and cons were discussed and a number of questions and concerns from Senators were fielded by Heather Smith and Andrea Hanstein for a total of 40 minutes.
 - Vote to approve Resolution 22.1, accepted with 15 yeses and 4 abstentions.
- B. Resolution 22.2: Application for Riverside City College to Become a California Virtual Campus-Online Education Initiative Consortium Member- Heather Smith
 - Motion to approve Resolution 22.2 M/S/C: O'Connell/Mayse
 - Andrea Hanstein answered questions raised by Senators regarding phases of consortium and possibility of FTE gains and losses.
 - Vote to approve Resolution 22.2, accepted with 13 yeses, 5 abstentions and 2 no's (Thompson-Eagle, Gerdes)

III. Approval of Minutes -

Postponed to next meeting

3:10 IV. Open Hearing –

Postponed to next meeting

3:25 V. Officer and Liaison Reports - 4:10 pm

- A. President-
 - We have onboarded Susan Mills, our new Vice Chancellor of Educational Services.
 - Dean of Equity, Inclusion and Engagement hiring process has been completed and the decision will be made public by Anderson when available.
- B. Vice President-
 - No report.
- C. Secretary-Treasurer-
 - Look for an email in the next few days from Mark, regarding Emeritus Wall.

D. Curriculum Chair-

- Douglas brings up the issue in her department regarding students using translation software to submit work.
- President Sellick suggests Senators take the issue back to their departments/disciplines to get suggestions on appropriateness of translation software and how this particular issue is being dealt with. Requesting this information be brought back to Senate for discussion in the Fall.
- Kelly Douglas has been reelected as Curriculum Chair.

E. RCCD Faculty Association-

Postponed to next meeting.

F. College President-

- Thanks to those who served on the committee for the hiring of the new Dean
 of Equity Inclusion and Engagement. We are near the announcement of
 results.
- G. ASRCC Representative-
 - Postponed until next meeting.

4:15 VII. New Business- 4:26 pm

- A. RCC's ASL Interpreting Baccalaureate Program Proposal- MacDougall
 - Professor Diana MacDougall shares a PowerPoint presentation and offers ASL Proposal for creating a new baccalaureate degree at RCC.
 - Motion to support the ASL Programs desire to offer a baccalaureate degree M/S/C: Sarkis/Eldridge, accepted unanimously
- B. Review of Board Policies for Approval
 - Many of the policies had little or no changes.
 - Motion to approve acceptance of first batch of Board Policies in the 2000 series M/S/C: O'Connell/Sarkis
 - Motion to amend to remove the following BP's for consideration at a later date: 2050, 2070, 2240, 2270, 2300, 2710 M/S/C: Sarkis/Thompson-Eagle, accepted by consent.
- C. Revised Constitution and Bylaws of the Strategic Planning Leadership Councils-Sellick
 - A number of changes have been made, however no significant changes.
 - The composition has not been changed.
 - The term "classified staff" has been changed to "classified professionals".
 - Sellick has made a number of changes to the document including, the
 inclusion of a minority report to be submitted with certain recommendations,
 inclusion of GEMQ as voting members in the prioritization process, identifying
 title 5 as the proper regulatory code when dealing with participatory
 governance, and changed reference from "shared governance" to
 "participatory governance".
 - Motion to accept modified constitution and bylaws of SPLCs M/S/C: Thompson-Eagle/Sandoval, accepted by consent.
- D. Ratification of division election results-Sellick
 - Sellick shares the election division results.

- Vacancies will be filled and voted on in the fall.
- Motion to accept division election results M/S/C: Soto/Legner, accepted by consent.
- E. Ratification of Melissa Harman as Faculty Development Coordinator- Sellick
 - Motion to accept Melissa Harman as Faculty Development Coordinator for the 2022-2024 term M/S/C: Legner/Thompson-Eagle, accepted by consent.
 - Sellick thanks Patricia Avila for her service as FDC.
- F. Faculty Acknowledgement-Sellick
 - Motion to extend meeting for 10 minutes to deal with faculty acknowledgement M/S/C: Weiler/Mayse
 - Sellick hopes to form a tradition of recognizing faculty service to the college by mentioning those who have gained tenure, full professorship, as well as those who have retired or resigned.
 - The academic personnel list has been pulled from the consent agenda so that faculty can be properly recognized.
 - Congratulations to the following colleagues who have:
 - Gained Tenure- Angelina Alcantar, Michelle Black, Lisa Contreras, Lupe Delgadillo, Mona Jazayeri, Michael Love, Joshua Orlando, Aaron Sappenfield, Rochelle Smith, Emily Spencer, Kendralyn Webber, Kweku Williams
 - Gained Rank of Full Professor- Kim Anderson, Thatcher Carter, Tonya Huff, Will Kim, Ernesto Reyes, Kathleen Sell, Marc Wolpoff, Kelly Douglass, Marc Sanchez, Jo Scott-Coe, Gina Weeks
 - Retired or Resigned- Sam Pessah, Mike Medina, Mike Barnes, Linda Braiman, Jami Brown, Kathryn Brooks
 - President Sellick takes a moment to recognize the death of Dr. Oliver Thompson and observes a moment of silence in commemoration.
 - President thanks colleagues for all of their hard work.

5:00 VII. Adjourn 5:05 pm

Motion to adjourn M/S/C: Legner/Sarkis