Rogers to be Inducted into the ABCA Hall of Fame

Dennis Roger

Former Riverside City College baseball coach Dennis Rogers will be inducted into the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame on January 3 at the Gaylord Opryland in Nashville, TN.

This will be Rogers second hall of fame induction after being enshrined in the California Community Colleges Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame this past May. In 2016, he was inducted into the College Hall of Fame.

Rogers, the College’s all-time winningest baseball coach, concluded his 26-year career with a 775-319-2 record and led the Tigers to the playoffs 22 times, winning four state championships (2000, 2001, 2002, 2007).

His greatest impact, however, was in developing young men. Under Rogers’ tutelage, the program developed 28 coaches (head coaches and assistants at the NCAA DI and II levels as well as a junior college and professional baseball). A total of 205 scholarship players passed through his program and 90 players signed professional contracts with 16 reaching the major leagues. 

The ABCA Hall of Fame Class of 2020 includes John Casey, Tufts University (MA); Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt University; Wayne King, Jr., Joliet Junior College (IL); Mike Kinnison, Delta State University (MS); Mike Metheny, Southeastern Oklahoma State University; and Rogers. Induction into the ABCA Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed by the organization. The ABCA was founded in 1945 and the Hall of Fame began in 1966.